Knit, knit, knit!

Whenever I think of knitting I always picture a sweet old grandma sitting in her rocking chair. However, this stereotype is slowly breaking from that visual, because ever since I have begun to learn to knit I’ve found that a lot of my peers do as well! The knitting demographic is expanding to a younger generation. Even the how-to tutorials on YouTube are evenly split between the younger and older generations. I wanted to see if I could contribute to the knitting community on YouTube so for my last video I made one on how to knit. After watching this video for the hundredth time, I realized that it has some qualities that I liked and some that I would change in the future. I enjoyed the various angles of the camera, normally these types of videos just focus on the knitter’s hands and that can get a little dry. The fast forwarded part also helped with being more visually stimulating and I think the fading transitions aided in smoothing out the camera’s angle changes. One main thing that I would change would be to add quiet music playing in the background. For this video I just removed the audio when I was not speaking.

One thought on “Knit, knit, knit!

  1. A more complicated project, certainly. The camera angles and shot sequences work well – I can see clearly what’s going on. The time compression does help to advance the story at the point where it would get repetitive. The editing is smooth throughout. So those were good choices. I think the whole thing needed more light. The video looks grainy, so that tells me you needed an additional light source. The experiment with dropping the audio out entirely isn’t as successful either. Because you had sound for the first minute, it’s distracting when it disappears entirely. A breezy music track would help to hold things together. Now i think you understand how much work goes into these instructional videos.

Leave a Reply

